2015 FA Women’s Super League fixture dates announced

The FA have announced the fixture dates for the Women’s Super League in 2015.

The WSL, England’s elite women’s domestic football league, was launched in 2011. The second division, plus promotion and relegation, was introduced in 2014.

The opening round of matches in WSL 2 will take place from 18th March, while those in WSL 1 will kick off from Wednesday 25th March.

Four of the WSL teams are based in London, with two teams in each division.

Arsenal and Chelsea are in WSL 1, with Millwall Lionesses and London Bees in WSL 2.

Arsenal will first face Notts County on the 2nd of April, while Chelsea’s first game is against defending champions Liverpool on April 19th.

The two will face each other on April 30th.

Meanwhile in the WSL 2, London Bees and Millwall Lionesses have their first games against each other at Millwall’s stadium on the 18th March.

The WSL 2 will for the first time offer two teams the opportunity for promotion into the WSL 1, while the WSL 1 will still relegate just one team, meaning 9 teams will be in the WSL 1 in 2016.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s