George Galloway enters London Mayoral race as campaigner for housing justice

George Galloway enters race to succeed Boris Johnson as Mayor for London. Image: @georgegalloway

George Galloway enters race to succeed Boris Johnson as Mayor for London. Image: @georgegalloway

George Galloway has entered the race to become London’s next mayor by pledging an end to the capital’s ‘social housing crisis.’

The Respect Party leader, who lost his parliamentary seat Bradford West in the General Election last month revealed policies to halt what he described as the ‘social cleansing of London.

[tweet https://twitter.com/alondonforall/status/610164005903187968]

Galloway vowed to compulsory purchase residential properties left vacant for at least one year, and said planning consent would not be granted to any new-builds unless at least 50% was social or affordable housing.

He launched his London Mayoral campaign at the Ethical Society in Holborn.

He said:

I will tackle the housing crisis as my number one priority.

We will compulsory purchase – and we have the power to do so – any house that has been unlived in, without a proper excuse, for one year or more.

He added

…house prices and backbreaking rents are driving people further and further to the edge of London, literally and metaphorically.

He said the ‘three main political parties’ were the ‘three cheeks of the same arse.’

[tweet https://twitter.com/alondonforall/status/610169552845058048]

He also said the current Mayor, Boris Johnson was a ‘blond buffoon.’

The 60 year old controversial and veteran politician told the 150 people present he intended to ‘build a city that benefits everyone, not just those dripping in gold.’

Mr Galloway recently spoke in support of former Tower Hamlets mayor Lutfur Rahman who was removed from office after being found guilty of electoral fraud.

[tweet https://twitter.com/lealolivas/status/610205877220601856]

Labour have announced six candidates who would be competing for the party’s nomination for the Mayoralty: Dame Tessa Jowell, MPs Sadiq Khan, David Lammy, Diane Abbott and Gareth Thomas, and journalist Christian Wolmar.

[tweet https://twitter.com/PA/status/610191536618369024]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s